Connect with us


Hodgson names England’s 23-man squad for World Cup 2014

England manager Roy Hodgson has revealed the 23-man squad for the 2014 World Cup in Brazil this summer.

Hodgson dropped veteran defender Ashley Cole in favour of Southampton Left-back Luke Shaw.

Cole, 33, is the most surprising name left off the squad, has played two World Cups (2010, 2006) for England.

Liverpool midfielder Steven Gerrard will lead the team in Brazil, with their first match to be played on June 14 against the four times world champions Italy followed by games against Uruguay and Costa Rica on June 19, June 24 respectively.

Everton starlet Ross Barkley and Liverpool midfielder Raheem Sterling is the most promising inclusions for the world cup.

England squad


Joe Hart (Man City), Ben Foster (West Brom), Fraser Forster (Celtic).


Glen Johnson (Liverpool), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Chris Smalling (Man Utd), Phil Jones (Man Utd), Leighton Baines (Everton), Luke Shaw (Southampton).


Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), James Milner (Man City), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal), Ross Barkley (Everton), Adam Lallana (Southampton), Raheem Sterling (Liverpool), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal).


Wayne Rooney (Man Utd), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Danny Welbeck (Man Utd), Rickie Lambert (Southampton).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in England